login | register
EN  |  DE


Anniversary Concert Anne-Sophie Mutter

40 years Anne-Sophie Mutter at the Salzburg Festival


  • 04 June 2017, 11:00


FRANZ SCHUBERT Piano Trio in E flat, D. 897 – “Notturno”

FRANZ SCHUBERT Quintet for Piano, Violin, Viola, Cello and Double bass in A, D. 667 – “Trout” Quintet

ANTONIO VIVALDI Le quattro stagioni, Op. 8 No. 1-4


End of concert approx. 01:15 pm.

Print programme (PDF)


Anne-Sophie Mutter, Violin/Conductor
Hwayoon Lee, Viola
Maximilian Hornung, Cello
Roman Patkoló, Double bass
Daniil Trifonov, Piano
Mutter’s Virtuosi


Anne-Sophie Mutter remembers scarcely comprehending the experi-ence of playing to Herbert von Karajan in the Berlin Philharmonie when aged 13, and thereafter being invited to debut with the Maestro and the Berlin Philharmonic at the Salzburg Whitsun Festival concerts in 1977. As the world-class artist recounted in an interview: “I went with my teacher to the zoo and desperately wanted to climb into the crocodile enclosure. I was utterly convinced I was a being from another planet. That’s how staggering the surprise was.” The review about her debut in the Salzburger Nachrichten read that “in Salzburg she underscored her reputation as a genuine, fully-fledged musical natural with an astute, well-rounded, technically sound performance of the Violin Concerto in G major K. 216”. Anne-Sophie Mutter returned to Salzburg as early as the following summer and since then she has given numerous concerts at the Festival, playing works from Mozart, Brahms and Tchaikovsky up to Lutosławski and Rihm.
To mark this 40th anniversary, Anne-Sophie Mutter is the one provid-ing the opportunity for talented young artists to debut in Salzburg. With her Mutter Virtuosi string ensemble, in which she brings together scholarship students from the Anne-Sophie Mutter Foundation, she will perform Schubert’s Trout Quintet and Vivaldi’s Four Seasons.