login | register
EN  |  DE


Chamber Concert • Cuarteto Casals


  • 03 August 2015, 20:30


JOSEPH HAYDN String Quartet in C, Op. 33 No. 3, Hob. III:39, “The Bird”

WOLFGANG A. MOZART String Quartet No. 14 in G major, K. 387

WOLFGANG A. MOZART Adagio and Fugue in C minor, K. 546 

LUDWIG V. BEETHOVEN String Quartet No. 4 in C minor, Op. 18 No. 4


End of concert approx. 22:35.

Print programme (PDF)


Cuarteto Casals
Meesun Hong Coleman, Violin
Abel Tomàs, Violin
Jonathan Brown, Viola
Arnau Tomàs, Cello

Programme Change

The Cuarteto Casals will appear in a slightly unusual formation at its Salzburg Festival concert, since its regular violinist Vera Martinez-Mehne has just given birth to a baby daughter and has been unable to resume her concert appearances so quickly. Meesun Hong Coleman, also a highly experienced quartet violinist, will assume the position of second violin for this concert. One special feature of the Cuarteto Casals, however, makes a programme change necessary: depending on the epoch of the music being performed, the quartet’s two violinists change positions: Abel Tomás plays first violin in works composed before 1800, Vera Martinez-Mehne in works after 1800. For this concert, only Abel Tomás will play first violin – therefore, the programme had to be changed accordingly.