login | register
EN  |  DE


July 21 – August 31

Hans Neuenfels’s radical production and re-writing of Die Fledermaus, with which Gerard Mortier bids his farewell to Salzburg, creates one last “scandal”, provoking passionate controversy. And the drama department breaks taboos as well by hiring the director Calixto Bieto, who stages Shakespeare’s Macbeth as a “wild party with escalations into murder” (Süddeutsche Zeitung), including necrophilia. The often polemic discussions lead many to overlook how much Gerard Mortier has done for Salzburg in his ten years as artistic director: he has broken up petrified structures, made art the real topic of the Festival, and attracted a younger audience with his many organizational and aesthetic innovations. The praise for Hans Landesmann’s concert programs, which have set standards in their dramaturgically wise construction and cyclical arrangement, is unanimous. One thing, however, is clear to everyone, both the supporters and the detractors of the “new Salzburg”: there is no way back to the times of Karajan. And things will not be easy for the successors, the new directorate (Peter Ruzicka, Artistic Director, Helga Rabl-Stadler, President, and Gerbert Schwaighofer, Business Director) and Director of Drama Jürgen Flimm, who take the reigns on October 1.

2001: “Lucky is he who forgets”? Discussing Die Fledermaus are Mark Minkowski, Reinhard von der Thannen (second and third from left), Gerard Mortier and Hans Neuenfels (second and first from right).

World Premiere / Coproduction with the Berliner Ensemble
Christoph Ransmayr
Die Unsichtbare
Stage director: Claus Peymann
Stage sets: Karl-Ernst Herrmann
Costumes: Johanna Pfau

New Production
William Shakespeare
Stage director: Calixto Bieito
Stage sets: Barbara Ehnes
Costumes: Mercé Paloma
Perner-Insel Hallein

World Premiere / Coproduction with primitive science London
Marc von Henning
The Invisible College
Stage director: Marc von Henning
Stage sets: Dick Bird
Costumes: Susan Grange Bennett

Production of the Schauspielhaus Zürich
William Shakespeare
Twelfth night
Stage director: Christoph Marthaler
Stage sets: Anna Viebrock

Production of the Zuidelijk Toneel Hollandia
Luchino Visconti
Der Fall der Götter
Stage director: Johan Simons and Paul Koek
Sets: Leo de Nijs, Paul Beuk und Ronald Roffel
Costumes: Maria Roers und Dorine van Ijsseldijk
Perner-Insel Hallein

Dichter zu Gast
Péter Esterházy / Imre Kertész / Péter Nádas

New production
Leos Janácek
Conductor: Sir John Eliot Gardiner
Stage director: Bob Swaim
Stage sets: Ferdinand Wögerbauer
Costumes: Chloe Obolensky

New production
Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart
Le nozze di Figaro
Conductor: Sylvain Cambreling
Stage director: Christoph Marthaler
Sets and costumes: Anna Viebrock
Kleines Festspielhaus

Coproduction with the Easter Festival Salzburg
Giuseppe Verdi
Conductor: Lorin Maazel
Stage director: Declan Donnellan
Sets and costumes: Nick Ormerod
Großes Festspielhaus

Coproduction with the Mariinsky Theater St. Petersburg
Dmitri Shostakovich
Lady Macbeth von Mzensk
Conductor: Valery Gergiev
Stage director: Peter Mussbach
Stage sets: Klaus Kretschmer
Costumes: Andrea Schmidt-Futterer
Großes Festspielhaus

New production
Richard Strauss
Ariadne auf Naxos
Conductor: Christoph von Dohnányi
Stage director: Jossi Wieler and Sergio Morabito
Sets and costumes: Anna Viebrock
Großes Festspielhaus

New production
Johann Strauß
Die Fledermaus
Conductor: Marc Minkowski
Stage director: Hans Neuenfels
Sets and costumes: Reinhard von der Thannen

Revivals: Jedermann, Così fan tutte, Don Carlo

concert performances: Bartók's Herzog Blaubarts Burg

10 Concerts Wiener Philharmoniker, 7 Concerts Guest Orchestras, Cycle „Erzählte Musik“, 10 Matinees, 1 Church Concert, Cycle Beethoven & Schönberg, Hommage à Alfred Brendel, The Hampson Project, 5 Solo Recitals, Cycle „Sturm und Drang“ – romantic piano music, 3 Lied Recitals, 4 Chamber Concerts, Festival Zeitfluss, 2 Academy Concerts, 1 Concert Attersee Institute Orchestra

Opening Speach Peter Sloterdijk: "Tau von den Bermudas"

Details of the several years:

1990, 1991, 1992, 1993, 1994, 1995, 1996, 1997, 1998, 1999, 2000, 2001,