login | register
EN  |  DE


July 20 – August 31

Gerard Mortier and Hans Landesmann extend their contracts until the fall of 2001. From now on, they will place a stronger emphasis on younger audiences: both the subscriptions for young people are expanded and the association of “Young Friends of the Salzburg Festival” is founded. The Festival shop opens at the Kleine Festspielhaus, and the Schüttkasten opens its doors: the box office now resides here, the archives occupy the first floor, the second floor is reserved for rehearsal spaces, and in the basement, a lecture hall offers space for readings, panel discussions and exhibits. The first presentation shown there is dedicated to Arnold Schoenberg’s life and work; this reflects the Schoenberg focus of the opera program, which features new productions of Moses und Aron and Pierrot lunaire. Leonie Rysanek, who made her Salzburg debut in 1958, celebrates her farewell after a long and eventful stage career by performing the role of Clytemnestra in Elektra. The drama program offers Shakespeare again: on the one hand, A Midsummer Night’s Dream, directed by Leander Haußmann, and on the other, Richard II performed by the Royal National Theatre. This year, Peter Stein dedicates himself to Austrian plays and stages Raimund’s magical fairy-tale Der Alpenkönig und der Menschenfeind [The King of the Alps and the Misanthrope]. The 100th anniversary of Anton Bruckner’s death is commemorated with a special concert series. The music program also features the project Next Generation, introducing tomorrow’s composers: Marco Stroppa and Kaija Saariaho are the first featured composers.

1996: Presenting Schoenberg's Pierrot lunaire. Mathias Dulack, Anna Viebrock and Christoph Marthaler.

New production
Ferdinand Raimund
Der Alpenkönig und der Menschenfeind
Stage director: Peter Stein
Stage sets: Ferdinand Wögerbauer
Costumes: Moidele Bickel

New production
William Shakespeare
Ein Sommernachtstraum
Stage director: Leander Haußmann
Sets and costumes: Bert Neumann

Production of the Royal National Theatre of Great Britain
William Shakespeare
Richard II.
Stage director: Deborah Warner
Sets and costumes: Hildegard Bechtler
Perner-Insel Hallein

Production of the Studio Theater Oleg Tabakow Moskau
Juli Kim
Stage director: Wladimir Maschkow
Sets and costumes: Alexandr Borowski
Perner-Insel Hallein

Production of the Odéon-Théâtre de l’Europe
Bernard-Marie Koltès
Dans la solitude des champs de coton
Stage director: Patrice Chéreau
Stage sets: Richard Peduzzi
Costumes: Moidele Bickel
Perner-Insel Hallein

New production
Carl Maria von Weber
Conductor: Sylvain Cambreling
Stage director: Klaus Metzger
Stage sets: Klaus Kretschmer
Costumes and marionets: Robby Duiveman
With the Salzburg Marionettentheater
Kleines Festspielhaus

New production
Richard Strauss
Conductor: Lorin Maazel
Stage director: Keita Asari
Stage sets: Ichiro Takada and Shigeaki Tsuchiya
Costumes: Hanae Mori
Großes Festspielhaus

New production
Ludwig van Beethoven
Conductor: Sir Georg Solti / Philippe Auguin
Stage director, sets and costumes: Herbert Wernicke
Großes Festspielhaus

New production
Arnold Schoenberg: Pierrot lunaire /
Olivier Messiaen: Quatuor pour la fin du temps
Conductor: Mathis Dulack
Stage director: Christoph Marthaler
Sets and costumes: Anna Viebrock

Coproduction with De Nederlandse Opera Amsterdam
Arnold Schoenberg
Moses und Aron
Conductor: Pierre Boulez
Stage director: Peter Stein
Stage sets: Karl-Ernst Herrmann
Costumes: Moidele Bickel
Großes Festspielhaus

Revivals: Jedermann, Der Kirschgarten, The Rake’s Progress, Don Giovanni, Le nozze di Figaro

Concert performances: Beethoven's Leonore, Dallapiccola's Il Prigioniero

Choir and Orchestral Concerts, Cycle Anton Bruckner, Cycle „Next Generation“ (Marco Stroppa, Kaija Saariaho), Project Friedrich Cerha, Cycle "Polyphony" with András Schiff, Chamber Concerts, Solo Recitals, Lied Recitals, Matinees, Concerts Musica Sacra, Literary Recitals

Opening speach by Claudio Magris: „Utopie und Entzauberung“

Details of the several years:

1990, 1991, 1992, 1993, 1994, 1995, 1996, 1997, 1998, 1999, 2000, 2001,